Meeker County

1916 Map of Meeker County MN

Meeker County, Minnesota County Officials 1856-1876

The following is a list of men who served in administrative capacity in the county of Meeker, Minnesota from 1856-1876. County Commissioners 1856-1876, Meeker County, Minnesota 1856 – Thos H Skinner, F N Ripley and J Huy 1857-J T Kinnison, John Wigle, J W Griswold 1858-J Wigle, J T Kinnison and T G Gould 1858-9–A P Whitney, John Wigle, Mark Warren, Peter Ritchie, Ziba Caswell and J V Branham, Sen 1859–Peter Ritchie, Mark Warren, John Wigle, Chas Low, Robert Lang and J W Dame 1860–E M Whitney, Mark Warren and Linus Howe 1861-J C Whitney, Peter Ritchie and J V …

Meeker County, Minnesota County Officials 1856-1876 Read More »

Shakopee Minnesota

Biography of Dr. Frederick Noah Ripley

Dr. Ripley arrived at Shakopee, Scott county, Minnesota, in September 1853, and resided at that place, boarding at the “Warren House” during the years 1853-4. He came from New York city, where he was educated, and where he left a mother and an intended wife. In 1855, he first made his appearance in the small village of Minneapolis — a slightly built man, of refined and gentlemanly appearance; possessing copious stores of useful and instructive information; richly endowed with all the natural gifts of an enlarged mind and liberal understanding; full of high hopes and vigorous promise, who in his …

Biography of Dr. Frederick Noah Ripley Read More »

Lucy Lobdell - Book Cover

Biography of Lucy Ann Lobdell Slater

Biography of Lucy Ann Lobdell Slater – A Wild Woman’s History: The Slayer Of Hundreds Of Bears And Wild-Cats! As published by A. C. Smith, A random historical sketch of Meeker County, Minnesota: from its first settlement to July 4th, 1876, p. 98-111. Litchfield, Minn.: Belfoy & Joubert, 1877.

Elected Military Officers, Meeker County, Minnesota

J. B. Atkinson 1st Lieutenant H.. Stevens 2nd Lieutenant Wm. Branham 1st. Sergeant H. S. Howe 2nd Sergeant Dan. McGraw 3d Sergeant F. G. Gould 4th Sergeant A. F. Heath 1st Corporal H. J. Hill 2nd Corporal T. C. Jewett 3rd Corporal Sam Hutchins 4th Corporal J. M. Harvey 5th Corporal R. B. Ralston 6th Corporal N. H. White 7th Corporal A. B. Hoyt 8th Corporal

Mustered in August 24th 1862, Meeker County, Minnesota

J. B. Atkinson M. Gorton Jas. M Harvey O. B. Todd A. F. Heath G. W. Waggoner J. Heath Wm.. Caswell H. J. Hill J. V.. Branham jr. G. S. Sholes sen. Jerome Rogers S.W. White Chas. D. Maybee Herman Kruger Jas. Lang Sylvester Stevens Oliver Gibbins Samuel Hutchins Patrick Condon T C. Jewett Albert Sperry J. H. Bradshaw W. Johnson A. C. Smith Andrew Nelson Michael McGraw J. B. Garrison Dan. McGraw Geo. R. Page Thos. Grayson C. E. Payson Jesse F. Cobb Jos. Thomas Thos. Ragan Henry L. Smith Oslog Olson H. Stevens Alfred Mousley F. G. Gould …

Mustered in August 24th 1862, Meeker County, Minnesota Read More »

G. C. Whitcomb Clamed to be Captain

G. C. Whitcomb clamed to be Captain by virtue of Col. Sibley’s commission and his receipt for the guns and refused to give them up under any other circumstance. The following were thereupon elected officers, The 44 Springfield Muskets were distributed to the men as far as they went remainder unarmed, except with a few Belgian guns that had been re-ceived from some quarter, and as it was thought best to have the men armed, all mounted,. and as we had but 15 horses and it was ascertained that a a party of skedadlers were yet lingering in King ston, …

G. C. Whitcomb Clamed to be Captain Read More »

Volunteers from Meeker County

Volunteers from Meeker County   Names Regiment &c. Angier, Albert Third Allen, L. D Fourth Atkinson, J. B. Capt. Artil Bradshaw, J. H . Third Butler, Daniel Fourth Brink, J. A. Scout Baldwin, S D L Fourth Borgusrode, R Fifth Bennett, Wm P Hatch Bat. Branham, E. F. Second Branham, Wm 2d Cavalry Campbell. Dan Second Campbell Wm M. (re-enlisted as Vet’n) Cavalry Campbell E A  (re-enlisted as Vet’n) Cavalry Clinton, H Second Chapin Isaac Second Cates W S Fourth Caswell, William Cavalry Deary, James 2d Cavalry Delong, Albert Scout DeCoster, F V 4th, Cap. Dunn, James W Fourth Evans, …

Volunteers from Meeker County Read More »

Towns of Meeker County

Greenleaf; named after Hon. Wm. H Greenleaf, who first commenced improvements by the erection of a mill dam on the site of the village of that name, and the subsequent erection of a flour and saw mill. The first settlers of this Congressional Township were three brothers Wm., Herman and Charles Kruger, in the spring of 1857, originally attached to the town of Ness-organized as town of Greenleaf, August 27, I859, including 118-29, 30 and 31, except sections 1 to 6 inclusive. When we first saw Wm. H. Greenleaf, he was standing up to his knees in the mud in …

Towns of Meeker County Read More »

Supreme Court

Something is due to our “Supreme Court,” presided over at times by Judges Butler, Ritchie, Geo. Frid, Robson, Griswold, Atkinson, Stevens, Walker, Campbell, Hutchins and a host of others. Jurisdiction depended somewhat on who got hold of the case first. In 1859 a case came before Judge Ritchie of Acton. Mark Piper and Nathan Butler acted as attorneys. Piper made a motion to “quash the summons” on the ground that the letters, s. s. were not attached to “The State of Minnesota Meeker County This was a poser for Butler and his argument therein was not the most lucid, but …

Supreme Court Read More »

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top