Meeker County, Minnesota County Officials 1856-1876

The following is a list of men who served in administrative capacity in the county of Meeker, Minnesota from 1856-1876.

County Commissioners 1856-1876, Meeker County, Minnesota

1856 – Thos H Skinner, F N Ripley and J Huy
1857-J T Kinnison, John Wigle, J W Griswold
1858-J Wigle, J T Kinnison and T G Gould
1858-9–A P Whitney, John Wigle, Mark Warren, Peter Ritchie, Ziba Caswell and J V Branham, Sen
1859–Peter Ritchie, Mark Warren, John Wigle, Chas Low, Robert Lang and J W Dame
1860–E M Whitney, Mark Warren and Linus Howe
1861-J C Whitney, Peter Ritchie and J V Branham Sen
1862-Chas E Cutts, E B Kingsley, E A Chapin, E H Whitney, Jas B Atkinson and Sam Taylor
1863–Geo. S Sholes Sen, H Hall and Moody Caswell
1864–Geo S Sholes Sen H Hall, Michael Johnson and F McCusker
1865-6–G S Sholes, Sen., H. Hall and Ziba Caswell
1867–M J Flynn, H Hall and Ziba Caswell
1868–W H Dart, S Y Gordon and A N Fosen
1869-Wm E Graham J B Atkinson A N Fosen
1870–J B Atkinson, W E Graham and H Halverson
1871-J A C Waller, Evan Evanson, H C Bull, Patrick Flynn and N C Hines
1872–Evan Evanson, N C Hines, Patrick Flynn, H C Bull and Chauncy Butler
1873–C Butler, N C Hines, Evan Evanson, Patrick Flynn, and Henry Clay
1875–C Butler, Evan Evanson, H Clay, B F Spaulding, and Jos Hubbard
1875–Evan Evanson, H Halverson, H Clay; Jos Hubbard and B F Spaulding
1876-Evan Evanson, H Halverson, Jos Hubbard, Louis Rudberg and B F Spaulding.

On page 9 of this History, we gave the name of D M Hanson as one of the first County Commissioners the record does not so show.

County Officers, Meeker County, Minnesota


1858-9 T. H. Skinner, Reg of Deeds, ex-officio
1860- land part of 62 D.P. Delamatter
1862-3-4 Jas. M. Harvey
1864 M. W. Piper, apponted. Resigned in 1865
1865 Charles E. Cutts appointed
1865-6-7-8-9-70 Jesse V. Branham, Jun.
1871-2-3-4 John Blackwell
1875-6 Hamlet Stevens


1858-9-60 Wm Richards.
1861-2 Mark Warren
1863-4-5-6 A C Smith
1867 Thos S Brown resigned, Henry Wilson appointed
1869 part of ’70 Henry Hill
1870 Chas B. Howell
1871-2 F Belfoy
1873-4 C H Strobeck
1875-6 E A Campbell

Registers of Deeds

1856 Milton G Moore
1557-8-9 60 T H Skinner
1861-2 T C Jewett
1863 T H Skinner till he died
1863-4 Hamlet Stevens
1865 E H Whitney,
1866 Jas M Harvey.
1867-8-9-70 John Blackwell.
1871-2-3-4-5-6 N A Viren

Clerks of Court

1860-1-2-3 J A Stanton.
1864-5-6 J N Harvey.
1867-8.9-70-71 John Blackwell.
1872-3-4-5-6 S W

Judges of Probate

1857 H N Baker.
1860-1-2.3 A C Smith.
1864 E H Whitney.
1865 Jas M Harvey.
1866-7 C B Jordan.
1868 Henry Wilson.
1869-70 John M Waldron.
1871-2 C B Howell.
1873-4 F V DeCoster.
1875 John Blackwell, till he died.
1875-6 S A Plumley.


1856 Abijah Bemis
1857-8-9 T Jewett
1860-1 E S Fitch
1862 John Wigle
Part of 1862-3-4 J B Atkinson,
1864-5-6-7 Geo S Sholes Jr.
1868-9 A A Sanford
1870-1-2-3 Wm M Campbell
1874-5-6 N J March


Smith, A. C., A random historical sketch of Meeker County, Minnesota: from its first settlement to July 4th, 1876,;Litchfield, Minn.: Belfoy & Joubert, 1877.

3 thoughts on “Meeker County, Minnesota County Officials 1856-1876”

  1. I am looking for a photo of John Blackwell. He is my Great Uncle and my research has shown he was a popular individual and much has been done by his family to learn more about him.

  2. More on John Blackwell. I made the comment he was my Great Uncle. ?? Actually, he was the brother to my Great Grandfather. We are looking for photos of John and also, he father, George Blackwell. However, George ended up in Douglas County. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top